19
Sep
12

guest star: Lina Ain’t Misbehavin’ at Stitely

After her church debut at age three, Lina Wass knew she was destined for the stage. This theatre darling and singer from Stitely’s Chicago Groove Collective is a total sweetheart. Read on to get to know her a bit better!

Stitely Entertainment (SE): What are the songs you’re listening to the most right now?
Lina Wass (LW):
1. “We Are Young” by Fun
2. “Somebody That I Used To Know” by Gotye
3. “Not Guilty” by Mandisa

SE: Who or what inspired you to be a professional musician?
LW: I always loved the arts and music. I started dance class at the age of three as well as sang my first solo in church. My church solo consisted of a verse in “Silent Night,” and I sang it once in English and once in German. I’m half German on my mom’s side and she taught me that song as well as played the piano for me. After my solo was over I looked at her and said into the microphone “Did I do good, mom?” Of course she said yes to her three year old hopeful daughter. My mom has been a big support and influence in music helping me to sing, teaching me to harmonize, and to plunk away at a piano.  I also remember my first entrance in Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor at the Chicago Theatre with Donnie Osmond. I was 12 or 13 years old. The lights were dim and we came in from the back of the house at the top of the show. The stage looked like an amazing magical place as I ran towards it. The energy was intense. It really took my breath away and I knew from that moment I wanted to be a singer!

SE: Do you have any regular gigs?
LW: My regular “gig” currently is as a Volunteer Worship Leader at Harvest Bible Chapel. I love being a part of the worship team and giving praises to the Lord. Sadly it wasn’t always that way. That journey in my life was pretty dark with a bright ending but that’s for another day. What is great is that I started singing in church, and I made it full circle back! Amen.

Ain’t Misbehavin’ at the Goodman

SE: Do you sing in any other groups?
LW: I don’t sing with other groups at the moment but who knows what the future holds. I went to the Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University for musical theater and loved it. My professor, Dr. Bruce Kirle became my mentor and really took me under his wing. He showed me what I was capable of and really helped me to believe in myself.  He passed away in 2007 but I think of him often. I have performed in musicals around the Chicago area including Ain’t Misbehavin‘ at the Goodman Theatre. That was and still is a dream come true. I was treated like royalty there and got to work with some stars in the theatre industry.

SE: How did you become involved with music?
LW: Besides dancing and singing at a young age. I also sang in choirs in Jr. High and High School. Continuing my love of singing by singing in talent shows and the school musicals. School has always been a great place to get involved in music and the arts. I hope and pray that it continues to be an option for kids.

SE: What was your first concert?
LW: My first Concert was Janet Jackson. And my first Broadway musical was Chicago.

SE: If you could share the stage with any musician, dead or alive, who would it be?
LW: If I could share the stage with someone it would be Whitney Houston. I’ve always loved her and that flawless voice.  I grew up on Whitney.

SE: Beatles or Stones?
LW: Beatles or Stones? I say Beatles for sure!

2 Responses to “guest star: Lina Ain’t Misbehavin’ at Stitely”


  1. 1 Pamela
    September 19, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Wow. Pretty cool story. Would live to hear her sing. Very pretty


Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

