15
Aug
12

Guest Star: Melissa Explains it All

Cellist Melissa Bach is one of the more recent additions to the Stitely family, but she’s already made a place for herself as an AMAZING instrumentalist. If you booked a string ensemble for your wedding ceremony, she’s the mastermind who makes sure you hear the music you want, no matter what your musical taste. Her arrangements of modern songs like “The Luckiest” by Ben Folds and “Let Go” by Frou Frou allow Stitely brides & grooms to include a little classical elegance in their modern wedding or civil union ceremony. Read on to get to know this cello chick a little better, and scroll down to hear more recordings of some unexpected songs, including “All of The Lights” by Kanye West, whom she played with at Lollapalooza in 2008!

“Let Go” by Frou Frou

“The Luckiest” by Ben Folds

Stitely Entertainment (SE): What are the five songs you’re listening to the most right now?
Melissa Bach (MB):
1. “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” by Stevie Wonder  (I just wrote an arrangement of that tune for the ensemble I’m in, Quartet Parapluie.)
2. “Crystalised” by The xx
3. “Helplessness Blues” by Fleet Foxes
4. “Re: Stacks” by Bon Iver
5. “Fake Empire” by The National

SE: Who or what inspired you to be a professional musician?
MB: Although neither of my parents are musicians, they are both great appreciators of music. My parents never tried to steer me away from pursuing a career in music. They believed I could make it, and that just bolstered my own confidence in myself. I studied (and mostly still perform) classical music, but my dad’s gi-normous record collection of indie rock music got me really tapping my toes. It’s been fun for me to play orchestral concerts and then juxtapose that experience by touring with rock bands.

SE:What’s your craziest event story?
MB: Well, most classical music concerts and gigs are pretty tame, but things tend to get more interesting at rock gigs… it’s hard to pick the best story, but I can narrow it down to two shows. When I played with Pinetop Seven, the headlining band on our tour (to remain unnamed) got in an argument with the audience during their set in Omaha, which resulted in a parking lot brawl after the show. Or, in a weather-related calamity, I played at Lollapalooza last year with Portugal.The Man. It poured directly before our set started; and during the show, the tented canopy over the stage, which had collected all the rain water, broke open right over my head — all the gear on stage was soaked, and I was drenched, as was my poor cello. Fortunately, no damage was done to my instrument, but it reminds me that I need to buy a cheap stage cello for rock shows! (Note: Right after this incident Portugal. The Man went on to make national headlines when their van and trailer with their (probably still soaked) gear was stolen!)

SE: How did you become involved with music?
MB: My grandfather bought my family a piano when I was in third grade, hence the start of private piano lessons! I loved playing the piano, but in sixth grade was introduced to the cello through the public school system. It captured my attention, and slowly the piano fell by the wayside (although I continued to study it until graduating from high school). Now that I’m teaching privately, I clearly see that although the initial step for music often times comes from the parents, the motivation for excelling has to come from the individual. So, my involvement in music came from my parents, but the motivation to succeed came from within.

SE: What was your first concert?
MB: Although I play a range of music styles, I’m primarily a classical musician, so the first concert that stands out in memory is classical. I remember seeing Yo-Yo Ma with the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra when I was a kid and was mesmerized. I had probably been playing cello for a year at that point, but seeing him perform made me want to work harder.

SE: If you could share the stage with any musician, dead or alive, who would it be?
MB: There are so many talented musicians I’d like to share the stage with, but I guess I’ve always idolized Yo-Yo Ma. I mean, he’s been on Sesame Street.

SE: You are stuck on a desert island forever. Which three albums do you want with you?
MB: This is an impossible question… I mean, if I was stranded on a desert island, I don’t expect that I’d be lucky enough to have three of my favorite albums WITH me. But if I was planning on being stranded on some desolate island somewhere and could pack for it ahead of time with only three albums, these are the three that I would pick today (ask me tomorrow for three different picks):
1. Palo Santo by Shearwater
2. Bon Iver by Bon Iver
3. London Symphony Orchestra (conducted by Previn) recording of Samuel Barber’s Violin Concerto, performed by Gil Shaham

“All of the Lights” by Kanye West

“Walcott” by Vampire Weekend

“Starlight” by Muse

0 Responses to “Guest Star: Melissa Explains it All”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

