15
Jun
12

Official Opinions: What’s on Your Father’s Day Playlist?

“How do I teach him? What do we play? Bit by bit, I’ve realized that’s when I need them, That’s when I need my father’s eyes. My father’s eyes.”- Eric Clapton, My Father’s Eyes (1998).

It’s Father’s Day Weekend and we at Stitely are happy to celebrate fathers and father figures who have impacted yours and our lives in the most profound of ways.  Hey there brides! Do you remember what song you danced to with your father/father figure on your wedding night?  And to all of our lovely readers, the Stitely office wants to ask you, “What song reminds you of your dad?”

Maybe such great hits as, “Butterfly Kisses,” by Bob Carlisle, “Father & Daughter” by Paul Simon, or of course “Dance With My Father” by Luther Vandross. Perhaps your song isn’t on the traditional list. Perhaps you’ve got a good memory behind, “A Little Fall of Rain” from Les Miserables, or “Black or White” by the late M.J. Whichever it may be, let’s hear from you about what song means the most!

While you’re busy thinking, let’s turn the question on some of our Stitely staff for the “Official Opinion,” and see some answers too, “What song most reminds you of your dad?”

Morgan (Planning and Sound Engineer Intern) said reminiscently, “Ok, hmmm, definitely Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain by Willie Nelson. Anytime it came on the radio, he would sing it in the car. It’s the refrain, which is the title of the song that’s my favorite line.”

Carly (Event Planning Coordinator) laughed out loud when she said Rainy Day Women 12 & 35 by Bob Dylan. Why was this song so important to Carly? “We used to sing it together!”

******************

A little B.J. Thomas was thrown in when Shana (Marketing Outreach Coordinator) immediately answered, Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head. “The lyrics ‘It won’t be long till happiness steps up to greet me,’ means the most!” And what a great line it is Shana!

After having a day for the question to marinate, Peggy (Hiring and Financial Manager) came in the next morning with, “My dad used to play the Buddy Holly song, Peggy Sue for me.  It made me feel special that there was a song with my name in it.” Then she followed that up with, “I should have thought of that before!” How cute!

*****************

Jeff (President of the Company), cracked up when he was asked the question! “Are you serious?” he said. With that, he gave Toccata and Fugue in D Minor by Bach. “My dad just loved it!” Talk about non traditional eh?

N’Jameh (Stitely’s new Marketing and Multimedia Intern) couldn’t help but think of Bob Marley. “My father came to the US from Gambia, West Africa when he as 21 by himself. When he would take me to school, play practice, soccer practice, or the lakefront, my dad would play us some Marley and tell me stories of his life from Gambia and the U.S. Whenever I hear Bob, I can’t help but feel inspired and empowered. So today, I want to highlight Three Little Birds, and No Woman No Cry, two songs that bring my dad and I together always.”

*****************

Photo Credit: Grant Legan Photography

Taking in the memories, Rachel (Marketing and Operations Manager) thought, “Whenever I hear Layla by Eric ClaptonI think of my dad. He’s really musically-gifted and plays three instruments (guitar, piano, accordion) and sings. I’ve learned a lot about music from watching him play at our church back in Ohio where he is the Music Director. He runs the contemporary (aka rock) music group that sings every Saturday afternoon & Sunday morning. Every once in a while during mass, towards the end of communion, he’ll end whatever song the group was just playing by transitioning into the piano ending of Layla. It’s always a fun, subtle little surprise and you tend to hear some chuckling from the parishioners who actually recognize it.  I can’t help but think of him and smile every time I hear it. My father and I danced to In My Life at my recent wedding and the lyrics always remind me of him.”

So how about this for your Father’s Day playlist? 🙂

1.) Buffalo Soldier- Bob Marley

2.) Don’t Worry Baby- The Beach Boys

3.) Maggie May- Rod Stewart

4.) Roll to Me- Del Amitri

5.) Change the World- Eric Clapton

6.) Daughters- John Mayer

7.) You Raise Me Up- Josh Groban

8.) Born in the USA- Bruce Springsteen

9.) Daydream Believer- The Monkees

10.) The Only Living Boy in New York- Simon and Garfunkel

Enough from the office for now. How about you? Comment to us about what Father’s Day songs you love! Don’t forget to check out our band’s set lists as we take pride in playing “Father/Daughter” tunes. Who knows, we may have the exact song that you are looking for. Have a Happy Fathers Day Weekend and don’t forget to play that special song because after all, music is the language of the soul.

0 Responses to “Official Opinions: What’s on Your Father’s Day Playlist?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

