28
Mar
12

guest star: nicholas barron – from busker to band leader

This month’s Musician Spotlight recognizes Nicholas Barron, band leader, singer and guitarist of Stitely Entertainment’s 312 Chicago. We sat down with Nicholas to learn what inspires him as an artist and band leader and who he’d love to share the stage with.

What are the five artists, songs or albums you’re listening to the most right now?

1) Bon Iver

2) Stew and the Negro Problem

3) Daniel Lanois – Shine

4) John Martyn – Hurt in Your Heart

5) Rickie Lee Jones – The Horses

I’m in a writing frenzy right now so I’m heavily into my own songs because my band and I are recording a new record soon and playing a weekly residency to work out the material.

Who or what inspired you to be a professional musician?

My parents are both artists, so just being around their energy and freedom set up a world of expression for me. My dad was a sculptor and a painter as am I. I never really fit in at school or anywhere else. When I went to Europe in the summer of 1986 and ran out of money, I started busking (street performing) in the Underground Tube and knew right away that music would be my life. It evolved from a simple love of having to sing and play everyday to a new passion. I knew music wasn’t the most secure form of income but this new passion and ability to express overpowered that.

My earliest memories are of listening to my mother’s extensive collection of blues, jazz and rock records.

What’s your craziest event story?

Playing for 8 hours without a break.

What was your first concert?

I had a high school band called Lo Pressure Mud and we played the big high school dance.

If you could share the stage with any musician, dead or alive, who would it be?

My favorite singer and songwriter is John Martyn. I would rather watch him perform rather than share the stage with him though. He was so unique and special so it’s more about watching them rather than performing with him. I would love to hang and perform with Bob Dylan though.

You’re stuck on a desert island forever. Which three albums do you want with you?

Keith Jarrett – Dark Intervals

Anything by Bob Marley

Leonard Cohen – Songs from a Room

Beatles or Stones?

I love both the Beatles and the Stones in different ways. I can’t choose!

Check out the talented Nicholas Barron and his song, This Train, off of his album titled As I Am!

0 Responses to “guest star: nicholas barron – from busker to band leader”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

