17
Aug
11

Guest star: How ‘Doopy Lupree’ came to be

For a while now, Stitely Entertainment has had the pleasure of working with experienced musician and Chicago local, Doopy Lupree.  A vocalist for the critically acclaimed Stephanie Rogers Band, Doopy naturally took to music early on in life.  We recently got a chance to ask him a few questions and learn more about his unique career path and the many adventures he’s come across on the way.

Stitely Entertainment: For starters, could you tell us a little bit about the name “Doopy”?  Is this a stage name?  If so, how did you come up with it?

Doopy Lupree:  “Doopy” Lupree.  A name bequeathed upon me by Katherine Chronis.  I had recently returned from spending 8 months in Amsterdam and told her about some of my musical experiences and she looked at me and said, “you’re a regular Doopy Lupree.”  I had no idea what she meant at the time, but I liked the poetics of it.  Later, when i became part of the a cappella trio “78 Cents,”  it fit right in with “Norm K.” and “LaRue Smooth.”

SE:  Who or what inspired you to be a professional musician?  Let’s put this in the present tense and ask “who or whom is inspiring…?”

DL:  College friends Linford Detwieler, Karin Bergquist, and Ric Hordinski.  Sticky Lupree members, Dylan Jones, Rich Stitzel, Lloyd Kind and Todd Lazar.  Former room mate, friend, band leader and singer/ songwriter, Stephanie Rogers.  Friend and DJ, Johnny Fiasco.  Fine Artist, Lora Fosberg.  Friend and Restauranteur, Michael Nahabedian.

SE:    What’s your craziest event story?

DL:  I wouldn’t know which one to tell without incriminating someone.  the time the bride’s dad wanted to dance with me?  The time the bride’s aunt passed out and I had to administer CPR?

SE:  Do you have any regular gigs?

DL:  I work at Naha Restaurant.  500 N. Clark, Chicago, Il., 312.321.NAHA

SE:  Do you play in any other groups? Tell us about them.

DL:  I am fortunate to be able to play with Sticky Lupree.  We’ve crafted some great tunes and re-worked a number of favorites by others revered into chugging groove trains.  We held a near decade-long residency at Webster’s Wine Bar.  I also very much enjoy adding backup vocals to projects.  my vocals can be found on the Large Records release: “Higher” by Johnny Fiasco.

SE:  How did you become involved with music?

DL:  I’m pretty sure it began in utero. my mom has a really pretty voice.  So does my dad.  Simon and Garfunkel, Peter, Paul and Mary, Beach Boys.  Then, when I was toddling, Disney records, church music, grade school music classes.  Then, TV themes. Elton John’s “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds“, high school marching band and 80’s new wave.  I was in a band at college.  I also had  a side-soul band.   Then I moved to Chicago, joined a gospel choir, started hanging out with DJs and artist-freaks.  Then spent time in Amsterdam and sang on the street and made some great friends.  When I moved back to Chicago, I joined an a capella trio singing in the subways; ended up being on Jerry Springer. Sang on Johnny Fiasco’s Large Records release of “Higher.”  Picked up room mate, Leah Callaghan’s guitar.  Began strumming some open chords and writing songs with her. Formed Sticky Lupree active today.

SE:  What was your first concert?

DL:  Manhattan Transfer. Their cover of Ad-Lib’s “Boy From New York City” was my jam.

SE:   If you could share the stage with any musician, dead or alive, who would it be?

DL:  Sam Cooke.  I feel he would be so gracious.

SE:  What are the 5 songs you’re listening to most right now?

DL:  These are songs that are on my playlist titled “Learn It:”

  1. Everything” by Michael Buble
  2. Send Me On My Way” by Rusted Root
  3. Human Nature” by Michael Jackson
  4. “Sailing (That Bus Comes Sailing)” by Lloyd Brodnax King
  5. Love T.K.O.” by Teddy Pendergrass.

SE:   You are stuck on a desert island forever. Which three albums do you want with you?

DL:  I’m going only double albums, and I’m going with albums I’ve never heard before.

  1. Freak Out” by Frank Zappa
  2.  “Clube Da Esquina” by Milton Nascimento and Lo Borges
  3. The Maria Callas version of “Tosca” by Giacomo Puccini

SE:  Beatles or Stones?

DL:  Beatles during the day, Stones at night.

0 Responses to “Guest star: How ‘Doopy Lupree’ came to be”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

