08
Jun
11

Guest Star: A fresh look at weddings with Kelly Cavanaugh

Stitely Entertainment recently got a chance to catch up with one of our favorite wedding vendors, Kelly Cavanaugh.  After 9 successful years working in event planning, Kelly is now a Certified Wedding Planner and owner of her own planning firm, Clementine Custom Events.  She was nice enough to tell us her back story, her favorite things about the business, and even shared a few photos from weddings she planned in the past!

Stitely Entertainment:  How did you get started in event planning? 

Kelly Cavanaugh:  I did an internship with American Lung Association in their Special Events Department in 2001.  The internship turned into a job and I knew after that experience that Event Planning was the perfect fit for me.  Since I only worked on fundraising events that didn’t allow a lot of creativity I decided I wanted to work on weddings.  Fortunately, I got a job at a large catering company where I planned and produced an average of 50 weddings a year for 8 years!!  In 2009 I decided to move forward with my dream of owning an Event Planning Company where I could focus on all the details, floor plans, time lines, creative touches etc.

SE:  What part of your job do you find the most satisfying and most challenging? 

KC:  The most satisfying part of my job is seeing my clients so happy on their wedding day.  When they come running up to me to thank me for being able to deliver their vision and allowing them to have fun, it is just the best!  The most challenging aspect of the job is how busy I am!  I feel like I’m constantly running around, my office is my car but having said that, I love the adrenaline and I love feeling like a accomplished a lot in one day.

SE:  How does your company differ from its competitors? 

KC:  I have a fresh approach to planning weddings and I’m pretty laid back so my clients really enjoy the process.  I trust my vendors and I love working together as a team.  Having so much hands-on experience allows me to rely on myself instead of my vendors. I’m able to do the producing as well as the execution of any event.  I’m not afraid to do whatever it takes to get the job done and I think fast on my feet.

SE:  What is the key to a successful event? 

KC:  A relaxed and confident client.  If I did my job correctly, they walk into the event feeling calm and excited.

SE: What is the craziest event story you can share? 

KC:  I’d say my craziest moment was when I had an outdoor, tent wedding and the wind was pretty strong.  The wind was knocking everything off the tables and the linens flew into a flame from a candle and set on fire!  The linen was on fire!!  Thank goodness we caught it quick and had extra linens so we could re-set the entire table before anyone even knew!

SE: Any tips you can give to our engaged clients about their big day? 

KC:  Trust your vendors!  They are professionals and they have your best interest at heart.  Try not to micromanage the event and just relax and have fun!  You deserve to let the details go and have the best night of your life.

SE: If you were stuck on a desert island, which three albums would you want with you? 

KC:  Depeche Mode-Violator, Tom Petty and the Heartbreaks-Into the Great Wide Open and the soundtrack to Amelie (random I know, but the songs just put me in such a great mood)

0 Responses to “Guest Star: A fresh look at weddings with Kelly Cavanaugh”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

