12
Nov
10

Official opinions: nostalgic music – A Blast from the Past

The sound waves of a childhood tune hit your ears.  You are immediately flooded with the smells, the feelings, the images, and comfort of a moment in the past.  So you close your eyes and immerse yourself (hopefully you aren’t driving), wanting to savor the moment.  Just in that instant, time stands still as you inhale this blast from the past, and nothing else matters. Nostalgia.  If you are anything like me, you live for these moments, for the ability to remember what it was like to be a kid with a simple life, happy, and carefree.

Music serves many purposes from livening up an event, setting the mood, expressing your mood or feelings, telling a story, relaxation, and many more.  In my opinion, the best and most important function of music is to serve as a nostalgic trigger.  What good is the music we make and choose to listen to today if it has no significance tomorrow and for many tomorrows to come?

The Stitely office crew took a moment to revisit the past and share a favorite childhood memory triggered by (what was at least back then) an awesome song.  Take a break and meet the child within each Stitely office member.

– “Bye Bye Blackbird” by Miles Davis

“I heard this song in my house when I was in 6th grade.  At the moment of hearing it, I decided that’s what I want to be – a jazz musician.  I was smitten!”Jeff Stitely

– “Puff the Magic Dragon” by Peter Paul and Mary

“The Cover Art on the album was amazing. My mom used to sing it to me all the time and I can still picture her back then.” – Eric

“Rock & Roll Band” by Boston

“Loved, loved, loved it and the whole album (which was my brother’s by the way).   My mom got so sick of hearing it, she hid it from me for a while.” – Peggy

– “Bad, Bad, Leroy Brown” by Jim Croce

“Every time my family went on road trips my parents would pop in the Best of Jim Croce cassette tape and the whole family would sing along to this song.  Whenever I hear this song I am instantly transported to a 1988 Ford Aerostar van.” – Rachel

“Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head” by Burt Bacharach

“My parents used to play it during summer days in the house when I was 3-4, and we would make up silly words to insert for “head” (i.e. ‘raindrops keep fallin’ on my LOKE’ or “NOGGIN”, etc).” – Shana

Like a Rolling Stone” by Bob Dylan

“My dad used to dance with me to this song when I was a baby and little kid.” – Carly

– “We Got The Beat” by The Go Gos –

“My mom and I always used to listen to this song and sing together.  I totally wanted to grow up and be in an all girl band.” – Emma

“To Be With You” by Mr. Big

“When I was little my dad used to play this song on his guitar and I loved it. I called it the Little Girl Song.” – Lindsey

“Man on the Moon” by R.E.M

“Automatic for the People was the cassette of choice for my dad when driving.  It’s the main thing that I remember from road trips as a kid.” – Taylor

“With You” by Tony Terry

“My uncle sung this at my aunt’s wedding when I was about 3 years old, so it became “Auntie Kim’s song”. Every time I heard it on the radio, I felt like the most special kid in the world because the radio (which was worldwide in my mind at the time) was playing my Auntie’s song, and I recognized it and KNEW it was her song.” – Ebonee

What songs remind you of our childhood?

 

 

~Ebonee Tinker, Planning Intern

0 Responses to “Official opinions: nostalgic music – A Blast from the Past”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

