06
Aug
10

Official Opinions: Troll 2 – The Best Worst Movie

So I have a guilty pleasure… I’m a connoisseur of B-movies. My friends and I love nothing more than finding the hidden gems in movie stores or on Netflix instant play. These gems are the movies that by all means, should not have been created. Some examples of such movies include: Theodore Rex (a buddy cop movie starring Whoopi Goldberg and dinosaur puppets), Maximum Overdrive (featuring a quite young Emilio Estevez and a soundtrack featuring only AC/DC) and my personal favorite… Troll 2.

Let me give you a brief overview of Troll 2 before I continue on with my experience. Troll 2 is a film from 1989 and was written and directed by an Italian couple who speak very little English. Furthermore, there is no Troll 1 – rather, the filmmakers called it Troll 2 to spring off of the success of the movie Troll, to which it bears absolutely no relation. In fact, Troll 2 does not even have any Trolls in it. They’re goblins (which is emphasized throughout the movie) and also vegetarians (PETA was grateful at least). So it has a bad plot to start – but that is nothing compared to acting, which is the most deliciously horrible thing I’ve ever seen. I won’t spoil anything else here, I highly suggest you rent it or watch it for free on Hulu.

So, fast forward to this weekend – I had the distinct pleasure of going to the Music Box Theatre to see a double feature of Troll 2 along with a documentary made by the former child star of Troll 2 called The Best Worst Movie, which tracks down the actors from the movie to see how they ended up 20 years later. It was paradise for a B-movie geek like me. There were homemade T-shirts and masks, people in costume, T-shirts and posters for sale and to cap it off A GUEST APPEARANCE BY GEORGE HARDY (aka, the Dad in Troll 2).

Thus began my Friday night – I grabbed my popcorn (not to eat, but to use. Just watch the movie… you’ll understand) and buckled in for what would prove to be the most profound cinematic experience I’ve had to date. The documentary preceded the movie; it was beautifully done – heartfelt, funny and at times, tugged the heartstrings. Fans of the movie were laughing, clapping, saying lines with characters and becoming a part of the experience – it was great! George Hardy even came onstage afterward and did a Q&A with the audience… he is the NICEST person I’ve ever met. I got a picture with him after the movie – he was just so excited that people love his movie!

Then began the real experience: seeing the original 1989 print on the big screen.  It was like a cooler cult screening of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. People quoted with the characters, sang “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” in a round (again, just watch the movie), threw popcorn and applauded throughout. I left the theater just absolutely blown away by my experience. I stood in front of the theater with friends and talked with complete strangers about the movie – I never knew there were others like me out there. I’m endlessly excited for “Troll 2: Part 2” (which, believe it or not, is actually being written by the director at the moment).

I guess what I’m trying to say is… loosen up. Go find things like this in Chicago – they happen all the time. It’s the best $12 I’ve spent all summer for a night of hilarious, good, clean fun. Enjoy the little things – I found a community in something I love. I recommend seeing Troll 2 – it’ll be a night to remember.

Nilbog is Goblin Spelled Backwards,

-Derek, Marketing Intern

0 Responses to “Official Opinions: Troll 2 – The Best Worst Movie”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

