10
Jun
10

Rachel Getting Married: Holy S&*%…. I’m Engaged!

Hi! I’m Rachel Mikolajczyk, Stitely Entertainment’s Chief Operations Officer and resident bride-to-be.  Since I started at Stitely in August 2008, I’ve talked and worked with what feels like a million brides, grooms, family members and planners from this side of the wedding planning fence. Well, with my recent engagement, I’m suddenly starting to see what it’s like on this side… and it’s crazy.  All of a sudden I’m thinking (and worrying) about issues I’ve never even considered before! Somewhere between the manic excitement of my shiny new engagement and the growing list of things to do, I thought, “Now I can commiserate with our clients; and what better way to do that than in the form of a blog?”  So, here it is- “Rachel Getting Married,” a blog & discussion forum about my planning process and all the fun (and not-so-fun) stuff brides and grooms-to-be get to do!  And I hope that as I share my process, you’ll share yours too. All ideas, suggestions, and comments are welcome!

Here’s a little background info about me and my fiancé, Doug.  Originally from the ‘burbs of Cleveland & Toledo, Ohio, Doug and I were introduced by a mutual friend 5 years ago when we were sophomores in college.  A Music and Theatre double major, I went to a small liberal arts school, Otterbein College, while he majored in Economics at The Ohio State University.  We moved to Chicago together in September 2007 after graduation.  We live in Bucktown and have a cat named Buttons, after the White Stripes song, “The Hardest Button to Button.”  Doug and I are both musicians, he plays guitar and I sing, and we attend live shows all the time.  (We’re super-psyched excited for Pitchfork this year!)  We have eclectic music tastes that range from old time rock’n’roll to indie rock and rap. (My current obsession: Phoenix)  Music has always held a special place in our relationship, therefore, the only marital decision we’ve made so far- a Beatles themed wedding!

Tune in next time for more random marital musings from a music-crazed planner. Until then, Cheers!

Rachel

Doug and I together on my 23rd birthday!

4 Responses to “Rachel Getting Married: Holy S&*%…. I’m Engaged!”


  1. June 22, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Why the need for an event planner? Well, it just makes sense and at the end of the day it saves a tremendous amount of casg as well.

  2. June 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Party planning is an art, it took us many years to become successful, great article.

  3. June 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I love your writing style, I truly do. I always tell my brides to sit back and relax, let me take the lead.

  4. June 22, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Point well taken. I am a full time event planner and can appreciate your insight on the subject. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

