14
Nov
12

Guest Star: Mr. Piano man, Leandro Lopez Varady

Leandro Lopez Varady is a native from Buenos Aires, Argentina who has been surrounded by music his entire life since his family is heavily involved with all things music. Now, Leandro lives and works in Chicago as the pianist for 312 Chicago. Read on to learn a bit more about this great pianist.

Leandro

Stitely Entertainment (SE): Who or what inspired you to be a professional musician?
Leandro Lopez Varady (LLV): My father, Osvaldo López, great jazz drummer (he played with Wynton Marsalis, Buddy de Franco, Tete Montoliu among others)

SE: What’s your craziest event story?
LLV: When Chick Corea signed my book of his songs in a press conference in Buenos Aires and looked steady at me for a few seconds. I was 13 years old. I do not know if it was crazy but definitely changed my life.

SE: Do you play in any other groups? Tell us about them.
LLV: Orbert Davis’ Chicago Jazz Philharmonic, a combination between jazz and classical music. Cirqua Rivera Dance Company (CRDT), a dance company that plays mostly original music. Steve Hashimoto’s “Sueños”, a latin/jazz band. Bryson/Bailey project, a straight ahead jazz group.

SE: How did you become involved with music?
LLV: Both of my parents are musicians. My father was a jazz drummer and my mom is a harpist, pianist, singer and composer. Also my uncle was the violin concert master in the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Music was around me since I was born (actually I was exposed to music since I was in my mom’s womb. She was doing a lot of recording sessions at that time).

SE: What was your first concert?Terry Callier
LLV: I was invited to play a composition of mine by a world known argentinean jazz pianist, Enrique “mono” Villegas. I was 14 years old. Although it was not a concert it made an impression on me I will never forget.

SE: If you could share the stage with any musician, dead or alive, who would it be?
LLV: Dead, J.S.Bach. Alive, Chick Corea.

SE: You are stuck on a desert island forever. Which three albums do you want with you?
LLV: “Daphnis et Chloé” (complete ballet) by Maurice Ravel (Cleveland Symphony conducted by Seiji Ozawa), Oscar Peterson “Tracks” (solo piano), The Bill Evans trio, “Moon Beams”.

SE: Beatles or Stones?
LLV: Beatles

0 Responses to “Guest Star: Mr. Piano man, Leandro Lopez Varady”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

