17
Oct
12

Guest Star: ‘Cause he’s the Saxman

Detroit-born saxophonist, arranger and composer, Aaron McEvers was raised surrounded by music. From an early age he knew that it was more than just a part of him, it was what he wanted to do for the rest of his life. This sax player from Chicago Groove Collective is one of the best in town. Read below to learn more about him and his adventures of all things music!

Stitely Entertianment (SE): What are the five songs you’re listening to the most right now?
Aaron McEvers (AM): Its easier to list five artists. I rarely listen to a small set of tunes over and over:
1. Bartok (especially Divertimento for strings)
2. my friend Matt Ulery‘s groups
3. Bennie Golson
4. Steely Dan
5. Herbie Hancock

SE: Who or what inspired you to be a professional musician?
AM: I grew up always knowing I would play something. My dad and my uncle were always playing the piano, so I was around it. It wasn’t until about 8th grade that I knew it would consume my life. I was both fortunate and cursed that I didn’t choose the profession, it chose me.

SE:  Do you play in any other groups? Tell us about them.
AM: My own regular band, for which I write all the music, is M13. We’ve played monthly for years. We’re working on an album now. M13 is a 13 piece ensemble that I assembled about 8 years ago. It is made up of professional players with different backgrounds who can really play hard. Jazz is at its core, but there are so many flavors in the music that its hard to describe. I just try write music that’s fresh to hear and fun to play. Until our album is finished, check out the website at M13chicago.com

AM at Trump

Playing away at the Trump Tower

SE: How did you become involved with music?
AM: I started when I was 10 in my school’s band program. If I knew then what I know now I’d have also

studied more drums, piano or even bass.

SE: What was your first concert?
AM: The first big concert I ever heard was Peter Frampton opening for Stevie Nicks, back in Detroit. The first real concert I played was a touring series throughout northern Europe. I was 17 at the time. I wish I could do that again.

SE: If you could share the stage with any musician, dead or alive, who would it be?
AM: There are so many. Tony Williams comes to mind.

SE: You are stuck on a desert island forever. Which three albums do you want with you?
AM: 1. Bartok – Concerto for Orchestra
2. John Coltrane’s – A Love Supreme
3. Miles Davis and Gil Evans – Miles Ahead

0 Responses to “Guest Star: ‘Cause he’s the Saxman”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stitely Blog Home
Weddings
Delivering a mind-blowing musical performance at an event is an art and planning it is a science. Stitely Entertainment has mastered both by planning and executing thousands of events.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

posts calendar

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

